Home » Poetry » I Believe (Hope is Born)

I Believe (Hope is Born)

As I bundled up to head outdoors to our now snow blanketed back yard ~ my mind was floating through thoughts of possible captures. As many of you know, I love to encourage expressions of beauty through our Lord’s magnificent creation!

Setting my camera down and crouching to lace up my boots, my eye caught a decorative piece of the season; BELIEVE is what the deep red words spelled. My direction of viewing went straight to the letter “i”, that just so happened to be dotted by a beautiful little star! Instantly my thoughts plunged into the very reason for season….our blessed king that was born in a little stable~manger of hay. So humble was His birth, but mighty would be the WORD He would bring forth to the world. He would give the astounding gift of SALVATION to all that would believe in Him. Before the night was holy, before the angels rejoiced, His coming was foretold.

Isaiah 7:14 – “Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign:

Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a Son, and shall call His name Immanuel.

With my camera dangling about my neck, and the little ornament in my gloved hands, I continued with my expedition. Entering the backyard there were a dozen beautiful multi coloured doves, nervously pecking at the scattered seeds on the ground. I walked slowly hoping not to frighten them. Peering up into my beautiful maple, I noticed the sun smiling on a couple of the lower branches. As some of the doves took flight, one awkwardly tried to perch on one of the lighted branches. The dove only stayed for a moment, but long enough for me to catch the natural warm glow of the sun on its soft feathers. How perfect I said out loud! The sun shining down on a beautiful dove symbol of LOVE! Making my way through the snow, I then placed my little ornament BELIEVE on the branch, and smiled as the sun graciously shone down upon the little star.

“Star of wonder, star of night
Star of royal beauty bright
Westward leading, still proceeding,
Guide us to thy perfect light.”

Excited with my new capture, back into the studio I went! All I could think of was how our Lord came to earth to be born of a virgin, to die on a cruel cross so we could be saved and given ETERNAL LIFE!   Oh what a wonderful Saviour! He gave His own blood for even me!

May we all reflect on our Saviour ~ His journey from the manger to the cross. This season is a beautiful avenue to share the LOVE of CHRIST and why we celebrate! Tell your children and your children’s children, “He is Lord”

I Believe

For every night

there is a morn

HOPE and prayer

flight is born

I BELIEVE

~

 For every TRUTH

there is a lie

for every LIFE

one must die

I BELIEVE

~

For every start

there is an end

for every straight

there is a bend

I BELIEVE

~

For every sparrow

there is a SONG

for every sorrow

JOY belongs

I BELIEVE

~

For every season

there is measure

for every CHRISTmas

there is treasure

I BELIEVE

~

For in a manger

lay our KING

brought to earth

let PRAISES ring

I BELIEVE

~

For from the manger

to CALVARY

SALVATION gained

souls set free

I BELIEVE

~

For from this earth

one day will part

ETERNITY to gain

never more to part

I BELIEVE

~

KJS©

“Merry CHRISTmas”

Image

2 thoughts on “I Believe (Hope is Born)

  1. What an enchanting world you have in your garden, Kathy, and what a wonderful message to draw from its surroundings! Such delight in God’s handiwork. A sweet blessing to grace your heart and bring joy to our own as we read and savour your words and the message they express. My heart echoes these words, “I Believe” and finds deep contentment in saying them too. Blessings and love, my friend 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

