Home » Poetry » Seasons of the Heart

Seasons of the Heart

The Northern lights 

they call her home

 

Cry of the wolf 

forlorn he weeps for her

 

Stars are brilliant with life 

awaiting her return

 

The frozen north anticipates 

new breath of life

 

Warm summer breeze 

longs to caress her face

 

Pulling her back

to familiar senses ~ beings of once a time

 

Sun kisses northern lakes 

in hopes to glimmer the eye

 

Ache – is strong it pulls the heart 

towards the country of sunsets

 

Tis autumn leaves brilliant 

with spectacular shades

 

Time is short 

the chill of winter is lurking 

 

Drawing closer with every eve

restless turns anxious

 

Will the heart make it 

back in time?

 

Whistling wind brings first snowfall 

with flurry it arrives!

 

A blanket of fresh white linen

covers earth to keep it warm

 

Reflection dancing lights 

twinkle in brilliance against the snow,

 

For shadows of footprints

 not seen by naked eye 

 

Drifting satisfying from the wind

the soul has come home 

 

She has made it safe 

no more her heart will roam!

 

Kathy J Snow©

Image

10 thoughts on “Seasons of the Heart

  1. Beautiful, my friend. Your words pull me in as if I were in the very place you describe. I love the line about the blanket of linen keeping the earth warm.

    Blessings!

    • Dear Joan. I love taking people on my journeys “back home” I am so glad you came along! the “blanket of linen” I speak of, keeps my visions of my childhood winters warm and safe. 🙂 Blessings, and thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!

  2. Gorgeous imagery, Kathy. Simply breathtakingly beautiful! What a spell you weave with your words. Thank you, my friend. PS:I love that line Joan mentions too! 🙂 x

    • Thank you, my friend, Joy. I write from a place I visit often in my heart…”back home” it holds such treasured memories ~ memories that can never be exhausted! I am so glad you enjoyed it. Your comments always mean so much. 🙂 xx

  3. Kathy, this work is so fresh, so different! I can see it, feel it, even smell it, a place I have never been that feels someegow familiar. I especially enjoyed the line, “Ache – is strong it pulls the heart towards the country of sunsets” There’s something compelling and sentimental in that line that I can’t get past. Thank you for the kaleidoscope of images, feelings, and emotions this poem elicits in me!

Leave a Reply

