Home » Poetry » A Poet’s Prayer

A Poet’s Prayer

If I could write a poem would it be a yarn or verse

A little tale of woe or a legend with a curse,

Maybe just a fable with a little myth to tell

A little rhyme of memories from my heart that knows so well?

 

If I could write a poem would I engrave upon your heart

The wealth of treasure from my soul to dare would I impart,

Could I etch as in the stone feelings for once so real

So that every word and rhyme a tinge of sense could feel?

 

So you see if I could write a poem it would truly be a gift

No credit there to take but from God for hearts to lift,

Encouragement and cheer to bring a smile through tears

My prayer is that the verse will touch one’s heart for many years!

 

Kathy J Snow©

Image

Leave a Reply

