Home » Blessings » God’s Sparrow

God’s Sparrow

Since I am such an avid bird watcher and photographer of the lovely feathered creatures, I am quite certain many will not be surprised of my subject I choose to elaborate on.

One day while I was patiently sitting waiting for a capture, my thoughts drifted to the little brown bird known to me as the sparrow. I began to ponder on the many references to this tiny bird in the bible.

The book of life speaks of other fowl such as the mighty eagle in the book of Isaiah 40:31 – But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew [their] strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; [and] they shall walk, and not faint.

Although I am often in awe of this majestic bird, the eagle, and I do favor that scripture verse and carry it near to my heart, I hold a fondness and compassion for the little sparrow.  I am sure this has been touched on countless times, however I would love to share my own personal thoughts and blessings of this tiny creature that our wonderful Lord created, and to us is known as the sparrow.

I often wondered why the Lord choose to use such a small common bird so often in the scriptures. I am reminded of the scripture, Matthew 10:29 (KJV) – Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? And one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father.

My assumption after reading and rereading Matthew 10:29, was that sparrows were not of much worth, and to most a very insignificant creature, and yet it seems to have its place and purpose in God’s word. My thoughts immediately went to one of the most cherished hymns that was penned by songwriter: Mrs. Civilla Martin, “His Eye Is on the Sparrow” oh how it thrills my soul! The first stanza captures it all for me –

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heaven and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

 My thoughts are – If our mighty God demonstrates concern and compassion for such a tiny brown sparrow, then how much greater must His love and mercy be for me, a sinner saved by grace? I truly believe that God’s grace will sustain me throughout the rest of my life’s journey, until the day He deems to call me home to glory, until then, I remain His faithful servant.

Thank you God for your little sparrows!

 

The Sparrow

Though the wind around me blow

Storms amidst a gale,

Among the shadows there is refuge

A haven within the vale.

 

Tossed about in utter turmoil

At times to veer off course,

The winds are strong and seem to power

Within the soul a stronger force!

 

For no reason be discouraged

Or faint to give to will,

Assurance safe within the verse

Awaiting promise to fulfill.

 

Consider how the little sparrow

Is minded by God above,

Fill your heart with melody

Sing praises full of love.

 

Be joyful with abundant song

For captive now are free,

His eye is on the little sparrow

And I know He watches over me!

Kathy J Snow©

Image

Leave a Reply

